Daybook: Fifth Sunday of Lent 2012

DSC_0240

..::In the world outside my front door::..

Bright. Sunny. Warm. Spring has definitely arrived.

..::I am Listening to::..

 A napping husband. The best sound after a long week of traveling. It is so good to have him home before he is off again.

DSC_0256

..::I am so Grateful for::..

a nice relaxing weekend. We were able to sneak away yesterday for an afternoon at the beach for some fun and sun.  We all needed to recharge and refocus and indulge in some good ol family time.

..::I’m Pondering::..

“Sometimes what may seem like failure to succeed is the greatest of successes. It just may not feel like success while it’s happening or while we are recovering.”

..::I am Reading::..

The Well-Trained Mind, Homeschooling for Excellence, Designing Your Own Classical Curriculum, and Real Learning: Education in the Heart of the Home

All.

Again.

For the umpteenth time.

Yes, I believe it is safe to say that planning for next year is in full swing. We will most likely begin our 2012-2013 school year in July again this year, with a family vacation falling at the  beginning of August, that will serve as a wonderful two week long family field trip.

..::I am Thinking::..

that Holy Week will be quite different in this house this year. This will be the first time that Dad will be away for the entire week leading up to Easter. The children will not only be Rejoicing for the Lord but also rejoicing for the homecoming of their father come Easter morning.

DSC_0269

..::I am Creating::..

birthday plans for a certain little girl. Eight years have certainly come and gone very quickly!

..::To live the liturgy::..

Since hitting the half way mark a couple of weeks ago, we are beginning to feel the closing in of Lent and are anticipating the arrival of the Easter season.
Until then, we will celebrate the Feast of the Annunciation tomorrow before gearing up for Palm Sunday and the rest of Holy Week.

DSC_0286

..::Towards a Real Education::..

Still plugging away through this year’s curriculum. We have already finished Saxon Math 2, Handwriting 2 for Young Catholics, Child’s Bible History and are just a few weeks out of finishing up with The Story of the World: The Middle Ages.

I’ve already started my daughter in the next level of books. It’s hard to believe that I will have a 3rd grader and Preschooler next fall!

..::I am Planning::..

lesson plans for the 2012-2013 school year. With two students now, I am having to make some adjustments to our daily schedule next year.  My daughter has become very independent with her school work which will prove to be a big help since my little guy is very needy.

He is also a very busy little boy so I am having to create plans with lots of movement! My daughter was, and still is, one who would sit still for lessons, so this will be an adjustment for everyone!

I’m also making rough plans for our summer vacation. We will be traveling to an area with lots of hands on opportunities for learning for the children and I plan on squeezing every bit out of the two weeks we will be away.

DSC_0301

..::I am Hoping and Praying::..

for my husband. He will be home for this week before setting off again next Sunday. Won’t you please keep him in your prayers for safe travels?

for my mother, who is still recovering from surgery a few weeks ago, that she continues to heal and regains her stamina.

for my daughter. She will be interviewed by Father this week in preparation for her First Holy Communion. Would you all please lift her up as well, especially this Wednesday? She is extremely nervous about the whole event!

..::Around the House::..

We have made quite a dent in our Lenten Spring Cleaning with 40 Bags in 40 Days. We are up to 28 bags so far! My hope is to be able to finish up before Holy Thursday so as to be able to concentrate on the Holy Tridium.

Those of you who have joined us on this journey during Lent, how are you doing? Are you achieving your goals?

DSC_0281

..::On the Calendar for the Week::..

Not too much this week. We will be soaking up all of Dad’s extra time which suits us all just fine.

..::Worth a Thousand Words::..

DSC_0322

Leave a comment