Kid’s Summer Bingo: How to Beat Out the Boredom (Printable)

The boredom has already ensued despite our summer vacation just beginning. We usually school year round in our house, so having these past few weeks of leisure time while I prepare for the upcoming second grade year is proving to be a challenge for my two little people. They are not used to having large blocks of time without something planned to do! The whining of “There is nothing to do. I’m so bored.”, has begun, and at the risk of responding like my mother did back in the day, (“Bored! Bored! Child, you don’t know what bored is!), I remembered Jessica sharing about a Summer Bingo she did with her own children and thought it would be just the ticket.

I created my own cards because I wanted the Bingo tasks to foster learning, friendship between siblings, physical activity, and some basic household chores that are not in my children’s daily schedules. I think I was able to come up with a nice balanced mix on each card.

So, just how does this Summer Bingo work? Well, each Sunday evening a new bingo card is started. Throughout the week, a sticker is earned for each square that the task has been completed. The stickers are handed out by Mom and Dad so there is no temptation! Once five stickers have made a row and a Bingo is scored, a ticket is rewarded.

If by Saturday evening, all of the squares have been completed resulting in a blackout, an additional 5 tickets are awarded. At the end of the week, the tickets can be redeemed for fun prizes! A list of rules helps to make sure that we are all on the same page, and Momma doesn’t forget how many tickets equals what prize.

My daughter is already plotting to save up her tickets to purchase a new chapter book!

I printed the cards out onto sturdy card stock, and instead of separating them, just left them attached. Then on Sunday evening we just fill in the date for the week.

Now my children have some form of direction on the days when we are not attending an outing at the library or a play date with friends. I just simply remind them of their Bingo cards and all is right with the world. (Well, for a moment!)

What are your plans to help keep your little people entertained this summer?

(If you’d like to make your own cards, you can find blank templates  here, or click on the images above for those already created.)

Bookmark and Share
5 responses to “Kid’s Summer Bingo: How to Beat Out the Boredom (Printable)

  1. Holly, thanks for stopping by & leaving a comment (you’ve brightened my day, we’re in our winter time, so splashes of sunshine and future summer ideas, along with encouraging comments are SO nice!).
    Blessings & smiles to a ‘new’ hs friend,
    Chelle 🙂

  2. Holy Moly…LOVE this!

    Thank you for such a wonderful idea!

    …danielle

  3. thank you so much for this wonderful idea. I am going to change it a bit to meet the needs of my family, I am so excited to get started though.
    Tammy

  4. awesome…..thank you for shareing!

  5. Learn More About Free Electric Power

    I’ve been browsing online greater than three hours nowadays, yet I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It is lovely value sufficient for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net shall be much more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

