On the Feast of Saint Joseph :: He Has Some Big Shoes To Fill

He awoke this morning and noted that Father was away.

DSC_0287

He threw open the front door just to be sure, and discovered that sister’s bike was in disrepair.

DSC_0285

Hurriedly, he set off to recover his trusty tool box.

DSC_0282

DSC_0281

Young as he is, he had no knowledge of who’s great feast we celebrate today.

DSC_0267

He knew nothing of the Carpenter.

DSC_0260

DSC_0262

Yet still he labored, attempting to take care of what his Father, due to distance, could not.

DSC_0271

DSC_0261

He stepped in to fulfill the role of provider and protector.

DSC_0269

He will be a good father. This, I trust.

…:::::::::…

Prayer to St. Joseph

To thee, O Blessed Joseph, we have recourse in our tribulations, and while imploring the aid of thy most holy Spouse, we confidently invoke thy patronage also. By that love which united thee to the Immaculate Virgin, Mother of God, and by the fatherly affection with which thou didst embrace the Infant Jesus, we humbly beseech thee graciously to regard the inheritance which Jesus Christ purchased with His Blood and to help us in our necessities, by thy powerful intercession.

Protect, O most provident Guardian of the Holy Family, the chosen children of Jesus Christ; ward off from us, O most loving Father, all taint of error and corruption; graciously assist us from Heaven, O most power protector, in our struggle with the powers of darkness; and as thou didst once rescue the Child Jesus from imminent peril to His life, so now defend the Holy Church of God from the snares of her enemies and from all adversity.

Shield each one of us with thy unceasing patronage that, imitating thy example and sported by thy aid, we may be enabled to live a good life, die a holy death, and secure everlasting happiness in Heaven.

Amen.

2 responses to “On the Feast of Saint Joseph :: He Has Some Big Shoes To Fill

  1. Too cute, Holly! He is one cute and thoughtful little guy! St. Joseph often has a way of reminding us of his presence when we don’t expect it! Yesterday morning, (on the morning of St, Joseph’s feast day) I got up and searched for my regular tea cup. I had to have my tea!!! In dismay, I couldn’t find it. So I when back to the cupboard and right in front I found an old mug with St. Joseph’s image on it! It’s one I bought for my husband years ago. I laughed to myself! I guess that was St Joseph’s way of saying I needed to use His cup that special day! St. Joseph is awesome!!!! God Bless you and your family, Holly!

  2. You are certainly right Jennifer! We weren’t planning on celebrating the feast day yesterday other than a few coloring pages. I was in awe when this little incident occurred. I couldn’t have planned a better teaching moment if I tried–God is so good!

    And how funny to find your cup on His special day! I’m sure it was definitely his intention for you to discover it in the cupboard yesterday morn!

Leave a Reply

