Daybook: Monday Morning (Feb 6, 2012)

DSC_0082

..::In the world outside my front door::..

Dark. Cold. Quiet.

Eagerly awaiting spring’s arrival!

..::I am Listening to::..

 A husband out the door, but a house full of sleeping children makes a quiet house.

..::I am so Grateful for::..

Truth, grace and prudence.

We have all learned lessons in virtue this week–Especially those in temperance.

..::I’m Pondering::..

“The quick-tempered man makes a fool of himself ; but the prudent man is at peace”

(Sirach 14:17)

and

“Watch your thoughts, for they become words.Watch your words, for they become actions.Watch your actions, for they become habits.Watch your habits, for they become character.Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny. “

~ Unknown

DSC_0574

..::I am Reading::..

If you want to count teacher’s manuals as reading, well then I have been a voracious reader lately. I’ve received a couple of texts for review so now planning for next year’s school year is in full swing!

..::I am Thinking::..

that some vacation time away is going to be in our near future. We all need some dedicated time to do nothing other than relax and regroup. We’ll just have to wait and see how Dad’s new work schedule plays out though before anything becomes set in stone.

..::I am Creating::..

Lenten plans. Can you believe the season is so quickly approaching?!

Every year I have to mark in my planner on All Saint’s Day to begin preparations for Advent, and mark the Epiphany to begin preparations for Lent or it just doesn’t happen.  Sneaky little seasons, aren’t they?!

..::I am learning::..

lessons from the Fruits of the Spirit. Until you are tested, you don’t truly appreciate all of the graces that you receive from the sacraments and all of the fruit that is born out of certain situations.

..::To live the liturgy::..

Last week was full of feast day celebrations with St. Brigid, St. Blaise and Candlemas. This week will not be as festive making it a good time to focus on our Lenten plans.

We have also been on a hunt for a First Communion dress for my daughter. She is sooooo tall for her age and all of the ready made dresses are much too short. My mother and I have finally decided that between the two of us we will craft a dress just for her. I think she is extremely excited about our efforts!

DSC_0390

..::Towards a Real Education::..

We are trucking away in the school room and are right on track for finishing out the year. I am surprised to admit this since we have had lots of upheaval since October. It is definitely all because of His grace.

..::I am Hoping and Praying::..

for my husband. He will be undergoing a lot of work related stresses this week. Won’t you please hold him up in prayer?

for my mother. She will be undergoing surgery next week. Prayers for the doctor’s steady hand and a quick recovery are appreciated.

for my sisters-in-law and brothers-in-law. They have all endured a lot this week–that they all have peace of mind and heart.

..::Around the House::..

The spring cleaning bug has made its way into our home. De-cluttering has been at the top of my list. We don’t have many possessions but to my children any found object is suddenly a treasure!

..::From the Kitchen::.. 

Simple, easy weeknight meals. Sometimes those are as elaborate as it needs to get!

..::On the Calendar for the Week::..

a meeting with a local seamstress who has agreed to guide my mother and I in the making of my daughter’s dress.

a history club meeting come mid-week.

 a park play date with lots of lovely friends.

and a lunch date with friends to share some yummy new dishes. (And of course playtime for both the children and the mothers!)

..::Worth a Thousand Words::..

DSC_0383

One response to “Daybook: Monday Morning (Feb 6, 2012)

  1. I agree, it’s hard to believe Lent is almost here! I need to get some planning done too. So thankful for hardworking husbands!

Leave a Reply

