Daybook: Tuesday Ramblings

..::In the world outside my front door::..

DSC_0141

With the turning back of the clocks, the cool weather is hopefully finally here to stay. Sometimes it can be increasingly difficult living in the deep south, where there really are not any changing seasons, to know that time is passing and Christmas is nearing!

..::I am Listening to::..

Two little ones giggling as the words of Beatrix Potter fill the air. I wonder if they realize what a gift it is they are sharing between each other…

..::I am Wearing::..

Jeans and a cable knit cardigan. No socks. It is still flip flop season around here even with the lowering temperatures!

..::I am so Grateful for::..

The love of family. It has proven to be, time and time again, and especially over the past few weeks, the greatest gift I have ever been given.

..::I’m Pondering::..
To those who said he worked too hard, St. Peter Canisius would answer, “If you have too much to do, with God’s help, you will find time to do it all.”

By the grace of God.

Indeed.

..::I am Reading::..

Cookbooks. Lots and lots of cookbooks.  In our house, we tend to get in the same familiar ruts of repeated meals and welcome the cooler weather’s introduction of hearty soups and stews into the rotation.

..::I am Thinking::..

that even when we don’t understand, God is good all the time. Amen.

..::I am Creating::..

Advent plans. Can you believe it? It is only 20 days away! Yikes!

..::I am learning::..

how to cherish  time and truly live in the moment. It is so easy to forget that life is not an emergency.

..::To live the liturgy::..

We have been contemplating attending the earlier mass at our parish in order to attend our priest’s adult education classes in preparation for the changes that arrive this Advent. Won’t you pray that we can make the necessary adjustments and juggle the children this coming Sunday morning?

..::Towards a Real Education::..

Things are picking back up again with our daily studies. I really need to revisit our evening read aloud times. They seem to have fallen to the wayside since all of this beautiful weather has been surrounding us. Now that the darkness will pull us all in earlier, and the fire will be lit most evenings, being curled up on the couch with a good book seems so inviting.

..::Towards Rhythm and Beauty::..

We have been trying to recover from a few difficult weeks. I find that my family really does enjoy the rhythm and beauty that comes from our family schedule. That being said, I am grateful that our homeschooling lifestyle has allowed us the time necessary to be with our family this past month. I know that my husband, especially, has treasured this time.

..::I am Hoping and Praying::..

for the repose of the soul of my father-in-law. May he rest in peace.

for my sisters-in-law, brothers-in-law, and for my husband– that they all find peace and comfort.

..::Around the House::..

The closets need an overhaul, and I have been placing that task at the end of my to do list for some time now. No, not procrastinating…promise!

..::From the Kitchen::.. 

New menu plans from all of those inspiring cookbooks, and baking, baking, and more baking. All of these little people need to stay warm somehow, and the cookies, muffins and pies are nice, too!

..::One of My Favorite Things::..

family unity–it has just astounded me and amazed me these past few weeks, and I am forever grateful.

..::On the Calendar for the Week::..

Hunkering down and completing scheduled lessons before the holidays begin to take over.

A trip to the library. It’s been over a month and all of our books have become stale, as we usually frequent the library once, if not twice, a week.

Lots of parties and cake as we celebrate an aunt, uncle and best friend.

..::Worth a Thousand Words::..

DSC_0160e

One response to “Daybook: Tuesday Ramblings

  1. Maryanne Caminas Nehls

    i am saying prayers for them too.

Leave a Reply

