Me and My Better Half

1. For the entire night we first met he couldn’t remember my name, and very loudly, and quite embarrassingly, kept asking my girl friend to remind him.

2. We didn’t actually have our first date until 3 months later. It was raining, he was late, and my curfew was just one hour after he arrived. I was 16.

3. We could have never been. He had just ended a relationship with a schoolmate because he was discerning the priesthood, but then met me. Yea, she totally loved seeing me in the halls.

4. He would make the 1 1/2 hour trek to my neck of the woods every weekend. Our entire dating relationship, 3 1/2 years, was long distance.

5. He used to write me letters and mail them to me at my college dorm just so I would get mail.

6. I was 19 when we married. I couldn’t even have a champagne toast.

7.  We spent our first night together in our newly purchased home. There was nothing in the house yet but furniture. No phone, no clothes,  no car and no neighbors. My luggage never made it to the get away limo at the wedding, and we were supposed to be at  a family brunch the next morning at 11:00. Finally at 2:00 there was a knock at the door. No one had wanted to be the one to disturb the newly married couple!

8. After we were married for a few months he kindly, sweetly, and desperately asked me if I knew how to cook something other than rice.

9. He says he wanted to marry me because he knew I would sing to our children. And I do.

10. I love that he still wants to hold my hand.

Visit Betty Beguiles and share your list.

Bookmark and Share

27 responses to “Me and My Better Half

  1. beautiful 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Oh my goodness.. your wedding photos are gorgeous! Your children are beautiful, too! Great list!!!

    • Thanks Maggie! I treasure the wedding pictures since that night seemed to be a blur of happiness! Check back soon; I know I will be sharing more of them 🙂

  3. may God bless your sweet family.
    pax Christi – lena

  4. Your list is so sweet! And I love the photos! Beautiful!

  5. ya’ll are so cute! Love you !

  6. Wonderful list! You are so blessed. 🙂

  7. Christine the Soccer Mom

    That is really sweet! God bless you all!

  8. Aww….love it!! We had a similar problem at our apartment. When we came back to CA after the wedding, we only had in our apartment, a bed and tv. A few days later it was Christmas and everything was closed. We ended up going to get food at the movie theater. =)

  9. thank you for sharing! my suitcase never made it to the hotel the night of our wedding so I had to walk the lobby of the Ritz Carlton in my wedding gown with no makeup in order to get to our luncheon the next day.

  10. I love this! So sweet. I was about to say my parents were 20 and couldn’t toast at their wedding, until I remembered that the drinking age was 18 then! D’oh!

  11. You guys are precious!
    I can’t wait to read more about your sweet life!

  12. Love your list! My favorite is #8. 🙂

  13. This is so cute!

  14. Adorable story! How fun to look back at how young you were in the beginning of your relationship. Your wedding gown was gorgeous. Your children are darling! Thank you for sharing this!

  15. Love your story! Also, your children are beautiful!

  16. Thank you for commenting.
    Great list, love the pictures!

  17. So sweet. #8 is hysterical!

  18. Dear Holly,

    I really enjoyed looking at your wedding pictures. You really are blessed of the Lord. Thank you for your appreciation of my humble efforts to equip other home-school moms.

    May the Lord continue to bless you and your family,

    Sherry

  19. awwww….when I finishing reading that, the sun came out! We’re in Florida and it stormed here all day…until now! Beautiful 🙂

  20. Your list is so sweet! Thanks for sharing!

  21. What a great list. So glad you shared. Thanks for stopping by my blog, too. You have a beautiful family.

  22. Your post made me cry! It is so sweet. Your love story is amazing and your children are beautiful. God had His hand on you and your hubby from the beginning and it shows. Thanks for sharing and congratulations on finding happiness so soon!

Leave a Reply

