Feast of the Epiphany

I have often wondered about the Three Wise Men—

Did they all travel together on a planned journey?

Did they meet each other in a converged road and decided to travel together?

How did they find the baby Jesus– asleep, or awake awaiting their arrival?

Did Mary invite them in– did she offer them food and drink?

And where was Joseph? What did he think of these strange men dotting on his newborn son?

How I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall, er,  the manger.

Although I will never know all of these answers, I still celebrated  the Feast of the Epiphany in my Domestic Church with my children today.

We started by placing the Three Wise Men in the nativity.  They have been traveling throughout our house since Christmas Day, getting a little closer to the manager each day. Now they are in their rightful place to adore our King.

Next we celebrated with a breakfast fit for kings! A king cake— how fitting.

We read The Story of the Three Wise Kings by Tomie DePaola.

And colored a few Coloring pages of the three Magi.

And once dad was home in the evening, we blessed our home and placed the inscription on our door frame.

Happy Feast of the Epiphany!

7 responses to “Feast of the Epiphany

  1. Pingback: Creating Catholic Culture: The Importance of the Domestic Church | Three Sided Wheel

  2. Hi Holly,

    I found your blog linked up over at Catholic Icing and came over to see how you celebrate the Feast of the Epiphany. I too wondered how it all worked out. I was once told it took two years for the 3 Wise Men to find Jesus since they were going by camel. I’m sure it took quite a long time but that seems a bit too long.

  3. I love that you served King’s cake for breakfast! So much fun!

  4. I love all your questions about the Epiphany. I keep thinking about the first few days with a new little baby…not much sleep! Company is a bit of a blur…can you imagine hosting royalty on top of it all? =)
    Thanks for linking up to CeleLINKY with the SAINTS!

Leave a Reply

