Ephipany

When setting out to become a mother for the second time, I failed to realize  that all the ‘cons’ of motherhood came along with it.  Endless mounds of laundry, dozens of dirty diapers, and sleepless nights staying up with sick children somehow eluded me.

Willie

And, tonight, on the Feast of the Epiphany, as I sit up with my youngest son, who is teary eyed with a nose running like a faucet and a cough loud enough to wake the dead, it occurs to me how greatful I am for this moment.   How, despite this late hour and less than comfortable rocking chair, when all I really long  for and desire is the comfort of my own bed, my son is seeking the comfort of his mother’s arms to soothe himself back to sleep.

It is then that I realize why God allows mothers to forget all of those sleepless nights, dirty diapers, and laundry, because if he hadn’t, I may have been foolish enough to not enjoy this great gift I hold in my arms tonight.

Leave a Reply

