La Toquette: Pocking Eggs

Growing up, it was just something our family did. Every Easter you would dye eggs and bring them over to Grandmother’s house for Easter dinner.  Shortly before lunch was served, every member of the family–aunts, uncles, cousins–would gather around on the back porch,  and we would pock eggs.

It was a simple little game: with eggs in hand, you would pair off with someone, and try to break the tip off of their egg without breaking yours. If you succeeded, and broke their egg, yours remaining in tact, you won and got to keep the loser’s egg.

Now this sounds all simple and fun, but we had some hard core competition going on. As children, we were convinced that if you rubbed the egg in your hair long enough, somehow the static electricity would help you not to be defeated. And no one wanted to play against Ma Ma, my great-grandmother.  She would always win. Turns out she had a dyed wooden egg that we would all come to discover after her death.

As a child, I never thought that this was any different than anyone else’s family. That was until I moved to my family’s current state and that first Easter rolled around. Eyebrows were raised.

See, I’m originally from Cajun country. My grandparent’s spoke Cajun French, played the fiddle and two- stepped. All, which regrettably, I did not learn.  This simple little game I played as a child, turns out to be a part of my family heritage– a custom brought to America by the French — the Acadians, my family’s ancestors, in which they called it “la toquette”.

Now, even though I am far from Cajun country, the tradition continues.  Every Easter, my own children and their cousins pock eggs. Who am I to break the family tradition?

And it turns out, pock is actually pâques, the French word for Easter. Our ancestors knew they had a good thing going.

Bookmark and Share
6 responses to “La Toquette: Pocking Eggs

  1. what a great little tradition. It sounds like a lot of fun.

  2. I must say it really is! Holly is my daughter-in-law,and shared this tradition at Easter. After the children hunt Easter eggs,this is the perfect treat before we share our Easter dinner!(and the eggs are used for making deviled eggs~so they don’t go to waste!)

  3. I am also a Cajun Lady and I introduced “pocking” eggs to my extended family. I, too, have great memories of pocking eggs with my family in Louisiana.

    Tammy

  4. Grew up in Ville Platte, La., where we brought our baskets to church. After mass, we started pocking. Then, it was off to visit grandparents, with more pocking. After the Easter feast, more pocking as we moved on to the great-grandparents’ festivities. Married an Hebert from Jeanerette who had never heard of it. But by the time we moved to Maryland and started our own family, it was a tradition. We introduced it to friends, and it grew. Today, I am expecting 30 people at my Easter feast and pocking bataille!

    • Jo, how wonderful that you are continuing on this tradition with your family and friends! I’m a Cajun who married a German— they obviously had never heard of it :) Wishing you all a blessed Easter season!

  5. I grew up in Pine Praire, Evangeline Parish, LA and have very fond memories of “pocking” with the grand parents, family and friends. Tres Bon Bon !!

Leave a Reply

